National Officers

Presiding Officers

Claire Gothard
President
University of Louisville
claire@campusymca.org

Kermit Ray Thomas, Jr.
Vice-President
Columbus State University
kermit@campusymca.org

Jack Pelose
Speaker of the House
Georgetown University
jack@campusymca.org

Nicole Fielder
Senate President Pro Tempore
University of Louisville
nicole@campusymca.org

Corey Shirey
Chief Justice
Northwestern Oklahoma State University
corey@campusymca.org

TBA
Editor-in-Chief
TBA

 

Program Officers

Gregory Pratt 
Dir. of Operations
American University
gregory@campusymca.org

Nolan Bush
Dir. of Chapter Admin.
American University
nolan@campusymca.org

Nora Mattingly
Dir. of Initiatives
University of Kentucky
nora@campusymca.org

Jackie Thompson
Dir. of Communications
University of Kentucky
jackie@campusymca.org

Francisco Serrano
Dir. of Development
Western Kentucky University
francisco@campusymca.org

Jared Thomas
Dir. of Government Relations
University of Louisville
jared@campusymca.org

 

 

Officer Overview

The National Officers are grouped by Presiding Officers – positions that preside over the Campus YMCA Congress, and Program Officers – positions that lead year-round program operations.

All of our National Officers are assisted by Supporting Officers, who are appointed to serve in various capacities specific to the Congress or year-round operations.

Presiding Officers Supporting Officers
President
Vice-President Cabinet Members
Speaker of the House Clerk of House & House Cmte. Chairs
Senate Pro Tempore Sec. of Senate & Senate Cmte. Chairs
Chief Justice Associate Justices
Editor-in-Chief Assistant Editor(s)
Program Officers Supporting Officers
Dir. of Operations
Dir. of Chapter Administration Regional Coordinators
Dir. of Initiatives Asst. Dir. of Initiatives
Dir. of Communications Asst. Dir. of Communications
Dir. of Development Asst. Dir. of Development
Dir. of Government Relations Asst. Dir. of Gov’t Relations

 

Becoming an Officer

All students interested in serving as Presiding and Program Officers will either need to submit a Statement of Candidacy (Presiding Officers) or submit an application (Program Officers) prior to each year’s session of the Campus YMCA Congress, where elections and interviews will take place.

Those interested in serving as Supporting Officers have two application periods – each Spring and Fall, with positions varying depending on availability:

Presiding Officers Supporting Officers
Elections at 2018 CYC Spring & Fall 2017 Application Periods
Candidate Declaration Apply Here
Program Officers
Interviews at 2018 CYC
Apply Here

 

Presiding & Program Officer Requirements

All Presiding Officer Candidates and Program Officer Applicants must be:

  • Registered and in attendance at this year’s CYC
  • Prepared to serve from election/appointment through our 7th Campus YMCA Congress in February 2019.
  • Enrolled in undergraduate courses for the full 2018-19 academic year, graduating no earlier than the end of the Spring Semester of 2019.
  • Presidential Candidates must be at least a sophomore when elected. Presidents are also limited to 2 terms in office.

Candidates must adhere to the following campaign policies:

  • Candidates may not spend over $500 on campaign materials
  • No candidates may use official Campus YMCA email lists or communications channels to promote their campaigns
  • No campaign materials may be posted/hung in official Session areas (meeting rooms, chambers, etc.), but may be distributed during breaks and non-meeting times.
  • All candidates will be given time to speak to voters, either during Session (for the House/Senate) or prior to the start of the Presidential Debate (for Presidential & Vice-Presidential candidates).

 

Supporting Officer Requirements

All applicants for Supporting Officer positions must be:

  • Registered and committed to attend this year’s CYC
  • Prepared to complete all pre-session duties and responsibilities
  • Remain in regular communication with the Presiding or Program Officer they are supporting